Kitchen Knives

Gwydion

I graduated from college about a year and a half ago, and when I moved into my apartment, I caried all my old college crap with me, meaning the complete 27 cookware set from target that I bought for like $40. Since I started making some nice money now, I began upgrading all the pots and pans to the Calphalon anodized set. With the completion of that set coming up, I wanted next to focus on getting some nice kitchen knives.
I'm looking to get a block set, but don't know the first thing about brands. Does anybody know anything about knives?

The_Twisted_Ear

A proud Conservative!
FWIW - Consumer Reports

Top Performance:

Wüsthof Trident Classic #841, $300
Henckels Twin Professional "S," $260

For Value:

Chicago Cutlery Metropolitan, $60, CR Best Buy
Oxo Good Grips Professional, $100 CR Best Buy

verucasalt

I know it's a little ghey, but I have the miracle blades (infomercial) and They work very well! I think they were around $100 for the whole set.. steak knives (8), carving knoves (2), ginsu (SP?) (1), Chopping (1), pearing (1) and
another larger one not sure what to call it. I hope this helps some!

jazz lady

~*~ Rara Avis ~*~
PREMO Member
Wusthof is the best but darned expensive. Until I can afford them, I bought a nice set of KitchenAid knives from Target for about $70 on sale.

Chain729

CageKicker Extraordinaire
I have a set made by Cold Steel. They perform beautifully. Only downside is that any metal blade that keeps an edge is made from a steel with a high carbon content and can't be put in the dishwasher or left in the sink.

kom526

They call me ... Sarcasmo