Anyone a Travel Agent????

JLS

Just wondering what other career path I should get into.. how do u become a travel agent? Meaning - do u take college classes or do u have to take a special class through an agency or ?? anyone have any ideas?

devenny99

Travel agent

My travel agent is Amy Baker ata Cruise Planners. I don't think she would mind answering some questions.:howdy:

signora

Just wondering what other career path I should get into.. how do u become a travel agent? Meaning - do u take college classes or do u have to take a special class through an agency or ?? anyone have any ideas?

I'm not sure of the requirements now or what type of courses are offered at the colleges in MD (I'm new to MD), but years ago I had went to a Jr. College in PA who offered the course (Travel Agency & Computer Reservation Training Certificate Program. It was a 6 month course (I think you had to complete a certain amount of hours) where you also learned the airline reservation system. You had to pass the course in order to receive your certificate from the Institute of Certified Travel Agents.

It was a good course and if it's something you want to do, you should pursue it. If you cannot find a local college/school that offers courses for it, you should check out online schools. I chose not to pursue it as a career path. Even though there are a lot of travel agencies out there, I just wonder do more people book their own travel thru the Internet then go thru a travel agency.

aps45819

24/7 Single Dad
Just wondering what other career path I should get into.. how do u become a travel agent? anyone have any ideas?

I just wonder do more people book their own travel thru the Internet then go thru a travel agency.

I would think becoming a travel agent in 2008 would be as good a career move as becoming a buggy wheel maker in 1908

signora

I would think becoming a travel agent in 2008 would be as good a career move as becoming a buggy wheel maker in 1908