Dual Processor Workstation

mainman

Set Trippin
Anyone have any experience, with any high end workstations (dual processor)? I need to purchase 2, that I plan on using 5 video cards in each... I want to know brand of cpu and your experiences.. Good and bad. TIA. :smile:

D

darkriver4362

My uncle had a Xeon 1600 Mhz Dell...We used it for games....He's about as much as a loser as me lol. But honestly, it was running Windows 2000, we had no problems at all with it. Networked fine, never crashed...extremely fast.

mainman

Set Trippin
Re: Dual CPU, or "SMP" Processing

Originally posted by KB3HGM
I am an A+ Certified Service Technician & Instructor, S.M.E. and former College Professor (Computer Science / SU). If you are in the market for a Dual CPU system, then there are several things you should consider before selecting hardware:

1. What will each system be used for and will they be networked for macroprocessing? To dispatch no less than 7 concrete distribution plants.

2. What size budget are you intending to invest per machine? Money is no object.

3. Will each machine be matching specifications? (This is important for bulk purchase dicounts) Yes

4. Instead of multiple graphics cards, why not a slightly lower-cost, but higher-end platform with more memory? The machines I chose have 1GB of RAM. I need multiple graphics cards, because my dispatchers dispatch multiple plants, this way they are able to monitor one plant per screen.

5. What Operating system do you wish to use, and what applications suites or software do you wish to use? I chose Windows XP Professional, all other software is written in house.

6. Who else will be using these machines, and what is the operational skill of those other users? (This is why some choose a GUI style OS...to simplify the end-user side of things...)Just my dispatchers.