Vehicle Inspection

tibby

Does anyone know where I can get a copy of the guidlines for vehicleimspections in st mary's county. This way, I can check my car over before spending the money, and also to make sure I don't get screwed by somone deciding they want to make some money that day.

Thanks

tibby

That link is a great start, but is there any specifications available? Like allowable tread wear, maximum size of chip in windshield and acceptable locations, etc. I used to be a mechanic, so I can check alot of things over before spending the money to make sure I will pass, and like I said, I've heard and seen here of instances of "shady" inspections.

Thanks again

crabcake

But wait, there's more...
The only thing I can think of that might contain that info is some state law or something that spells out exactly what is/isn't allowable. Ken King (the resident forum legal eagle) might be of some help there. :wink:

You might wanna try and send him a PM. :shrug:

willie

Re: Re: Vehicle Inspection

Originally posted by tibby
That link is a great start, but is there any specifications available? Like allowable tread wear, maximum size of chip in windshield and acceptable locations, etc. I used to be a mechanic, so I can check alot of things over before spending the money to make sure I will pass, and like I said, I've heard and seen here of instances of "shady" inspections.

Thanks again
Any place that my family has dealt with has a flat fee. They tell you what work needs to be done, you take it home and do the work then they just check your work. If you have been a mechanic then this should work OK.

Ken King

A little rusty but not crusty
PREMO Member