Flat paint in the bathroom

pixiegirl

Cleopatra Jones
My kids bathroom was painted already when we bought our house. Luckily for me it was done in blue/green with a fish boarder and just so happened to go really well with the fish shower curtain I already had for them. Unfortunately, it was painted with flat paint. I bought ceramic tiles and was going to tile up the walls to about 3 1/2 feet. A lot of work and I've never done anything like that before. Is there some kind of sealer or protectant that I can "paint" on over top of the existing paint to protect it rather then trying to tile the walls and possibly make a huge mess?

mainman

Set Trippin
pixiegirl said:
My kids bathroom was painted already when we bought our house. Luckily for me it was done in blue/green with a fish boarder and just so happened to go really well with the fish shower curtain I already had for them. Unfortunately, it was painted with flat paint. I bought ceramic tiles and was going to tile up the walls to about 3 1/2 feet. A lot of work and I've never done anything like that before. Is there some kind of sealer or protectant that I can "paint" on over top of the existing paint to protect it rather then trying to tile the walls and possibly make a huge mess?
I don't understand, if you are gonna have to paint a coat of something to protect it, why don't you just pick up a gallon of semigloss the same color and just paint it anyways....:confused:

fddog

Bow wow
pixie you could screw a thin piece of partical board against the wall where you want to put the tile, at the top of the board do a chair rail to seperate the two :yay:

pixiegirl

Cleopatra Jones
mainman said:
I don't understand, if you are gonna have to paint a coat of something to protect it, why don't you just pick up a gallon of semigloss the same color and just paint it anyways....:confused: