New to this...

Cowgirl

Hi everyone! I am new to this whole parenting thing...I am living with my boyfriend and his 2 children (a boy who is 3 1/2 and a girl who is 14 months). Anyways, I will probably be posting on here from time to time to ask for advice!

I wanted to get advice for dinner time.... The boy does not like to eat his dinner. Well, it's irregular. Some days he'll eat until you think that little tummy can't possibly hold more food, and then other times he refuses to eat at all. One night he'll love mashed potatoes, and the next he says he hates them! Anywas, we don't expect him to eat stuff that obviously most kids don't like, but we're expecting him to eat reasonably. We've tried everything from punishment (which just gets everyone upset and doesn't work at all), to telling him that's all he's going to get to eat that night, and no dessert...and if he says he's hungry then just offer him his dinner. But that isn't really working either.

The thing that is really screwing it up is his mother. Custody is split 50/50. So, he goes to his mom's and she lets him pretty much whatever he wants for dinner...cereal, whatever. So, anything that we do with him gets erased when he's there. My sister said that he'll eventually learn that he has to eat dinner when he's with dad. How long will it take? We would just like to get suggestions for the meantime. I don't want dinnertime to be a battle every night! Thanks!

Oh, and any advice about step-mothering would be helpful! We're not married, but might as well be!! Thanks! :howdy:

DQ2B