Southern Maryland Online - Serving Calvert, Charles, & St. Mary's Counties.  Click here to go to the Front Page of somd.com.
 
| Write Us | Help | Sponsors | Classifieds | Employment | Forums | MarketPlace | Calendar | Headlines | Announcements | Weather | More... |


Go Back   Southern Maryland Community Forums > General Interest > Consumer & Financial Affairs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Chat Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Wireless

Consumer & Financial Affairs Warn others about scams or provide tips on saving a few bucks. Seek advice on investments--stocks, mutual funds & 401k's. Where's the best best place to bank?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2007, 09:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Persimmon Creek Farm
 
persimmoncf's Avatar
 
Member Since: Sep 2004
Location: Mechanicsville
Posts: 1,465
Tell me please...am I being scammed??

Hello,
I'm the owner of 1969 Chevrolet Camaro RS Z28 on which you've recently show interest through
internet.The car is in proper shape and in perfect running condition. The car is flawless it has
never been laid down.It has a US Clear Title and it is in Showroom Condition. The price for the car
is $4,800 US shipping and handling included in price.
We are expecting a baby in a few months and I really want to improve the
old house that we bought.We wish that the house to be ready
before the baby will come.Those are the reasons why I want US $4800.00 for the car,the price is
including the shipping and insurance charges.Shipping will be done via DAS (Dependable Auto
Shippers) and it will take no more then 2-3 days (depending on your exact location).You will get the
car with proper custom papers, clear title, bill of sale signed by me as well, the unit will be
shipped dry, no oil, no fuel to your closes terminal near your location, and from there it will
trailed to your door.
The transaction will be made through eBay Protectin Program(the car was listed on ebay also) as a
third party in the deal for our own protection. In case we will close this deal, you are protected
by eBay.Your funds will be 100% insured by eBay and I will be sure that I will receive the payment.
One conclusion, we are protected! I will try to tell you in few words how the process works through
eBay.
Their primary purpose is to protect buyers and sellers from fraud. eBay services accept and hold
payment from the buyer until the buyer receives and approves the merchandise. Only then do they
forward the payment to the seller.
If you decide that you want to go further in the purchase, look how we will proceed. You need to
email me as soon as possible your full name and shipping address and as soon as I receive these
information's from you I will forward them to eBay along with the rest of the details in order for
them to open a case regarding our deal, and they will contact you with more information's about the
process (payment, protection policy, etc.)
They will guide you through the process so we can complete this deal successfully and in the best
manner!
I'll look forward to start this deal with you!
Sincerely,
James
persimmoncf is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Add post to Facebook
[ Reply w/Quote ]
Old 11-15-2007, 09:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Persimmon Creek Farm
 
persimmoncf's Avatar
 
Member Since: Sep 2004
Location: Mechanicsville
Posts: 1,465
He did come thru with a physical address and a last name...I was surprised
persimmoncf is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Add post to Facebook
[ Reply w/Quote ]
Old 11-15-2007, 09:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Flip Flop Queen!
 
Chasey_Lane's Avatar
 
Member Since: Nov 2003
Location: Uppityville
Posts: 26,731
It surely sounds like a scam. Where is the vehicle located?
__________________
A reply from you to this message will not be possible. I can't have an adult conversation w/ you in this environment anyhow.



"You croc wearing, fake coach bag wearing fake tanner you. Take that." ~ Author unknown

"Love your haters - they're your biggest fans."

"You know you are absolutely f'ing amazing when people you don't even know hate you."
Chasey_Lane is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Add post to Facebook
[ Reply w/Quote ]
Old 11-15-2007, 10:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
How You Doing?
 
NeonImpact's Avatar
 
Member Since: Nov 2007
Location: Port Republic
Posts: 80
Sounds like some major scam!
__________________

NeonImpact is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Add post to Facebook
[ Reply w/Quote ]
Old 11-15-2007, 10:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
wkndbeacher
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patch Tuesday View Post
SCAM!!!

You need to do a DNS check on the IP address of that email...

View the full header of the email to get the IP address...

I'll bet it has Nigeria all over it...

DNS tools, reports and Hosting tests, advanced network and domain name tools.

Very interesting stuff
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Add post to Facebook
[ Reply w/Quote ]
Old 11-15-2007, 10:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Member Since: Jan 2006
Posts: 42
You have to be insane to think that is legitimate. A flawless 1969 z28 for $4800 – that alone should raise flags. Broken English, complicated payment arrangements, most likely international deal... Please don’t waste any more of your time with that criminal.
SSUNBRN is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Add post to Facebook
[ Reply w/Quote ]
Old 11-15-2007, 10:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
American Beauty
 
RoseRed's Avatar
 
Member Since: Mar 2001
Location: My own private Idaho
Posts: 51,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by persimmoncf View Post
Hello,
I'm the owner of 1969 Chevrolet Camaro RS Z28 on which you've recently show interest through
internet.
Where's Flomaster?
__________________
Oysters are nasty. If I want a fried loogie, I'll spit in a frying pan.
RoseRed is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Add post to Facebook
[ Reply w/Quote ]
Old 11-15-2007, 10:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
huntr1's Avatar
 
Member Since: Mar 2003
Posts: 10,512
$4800 for a "showroom condition" 69 RS/SS?

Do not walk away, RUN!!!!!!!!!

You can't get a #4 69 RS/SS for that.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by vraiblonde View Post
I have it in for Huntr and look for opportunities to pick on him mercilessly and single him out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by vraiblonde View Post
Huntr doesn't have a problem.
huntr1 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Add post to Facebook
[ Reply w/Quote ]
Old 11-15-2007, 10:20 AM   #9 (permalink)
#3 on the MS+45 hit list.
 
itsbob's Avatar
 
Member Since: Feb 2003
Location: As close to heaven as you can get
Posts: 23,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSUNBRN View Post
You have to be insane to think that is legitimate. A flawless 1969 z28 for $4800 – that alone should raise flags. Broken English, complicated payment arrangements, most likely international deal... Please don’t waste any more of your time with that criminal.
The car is flawless it has
never been laid down.


Kind of a HUGE hint right there.. I'm guessing their last scam e-mail had to do with a motorcycle.. they screwed up in their editing.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadGirl
Bob is the bestest lookin and smartest man I've ever met.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kain99 View Post
You are a genius Bob!
I love the mountains
I love the clear blue skies
I love big bridges
I love when great whites fly
I love the whole world
And all its sights and sounds
Boom-dee-ah-da, boom-dee-ah-da
Boom-dee-ah-da, boom-dee-ah-da
itsbob is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Add post to Facebook
[ Reply w/Quote ]
Old 11-15-2007, 10:22 AM   #10 (permalink)
Loyalty, Friendship, Love
 
Dymphna's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,428
You said you had an address...If it's a US address, it's bogus. No one physically located in the US specifies a dollar amount as $4800 US. AND no one is shipping a car over water in any condition for that little amount. I don't care if it's a Yugo in pieces. If the seller is in Canada, that's would negate my argument, it could ship cheaply and they would refer to money that way. But that doesn't change what everyone else has said already.

If it's too good to be true, it's not.
__________________
Ná glac pioc comhairle gan comhairle ban.
Dymphna is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Add post to Facebook
[ Reply w/Quote ]
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:24 PM.



| Home | Help | Contact Us | About somd.com | Privacy | Advertising | Sponsors | Newsletter |

| What's New | What's Cool | Top Rated | Add A Link | Mod a Link | Link to Us |

| Announcements | Bookstore | Chat | Calendar | Classifieds | Community |
| Contests & Surveys | Culture | Dating | Dining | Education | Employment | Entertainment |
| Forums | Free E-Mail | Games | Gear! | Government | Guestbook | Health | Marketplace | Mortgage | News |
| Organizations | Photos | Postcard | Real Estate | Relocation | Sports | Survey | Travel | Wiki | Weather | Worship |

Brought to you by Virtually Everything, Inc.   ©1996-2008, All rights reserved.


SEO by vBSEO 3.1.0 ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.