View RSS Feed

Monello

Looking back, I had an amazing childhood

Rate this Entry
The thread about life's turning point got thinking.

I grew up in the 1960s. Became a moody teen in the 1970s. Looking back, what a great time to be a kid & a teen.

I was a freshman in high school. We still had junior highs back then. I just became a starter on the freshman wrestling team. A few of the older kids in the neighborhood decided to plan a camping trip. 3 kids lived down the street but went to a different high school. They invited 2 of their classmates that I had never met. We were suburb kids with a modest understanding of camping and camping related skills. I had a sleeping bag, small backpack by today's standards and a few other essentials. The rest of the gear we needed was pilfered from our homes. We ended up with skillets, sauce pots, hatchets, axes, rope, a cooler in addition to a bunch of other stuff. Several of my fellow campers brough shotguns with them. I wasn't allowed a firearm but I did have a compound bow that I brought. We got a bunch of boxes from the local grocery store. The fruit boxes worked great as you could use the lid to reinforce the bottom to create strong storage.