How important are the synopsis and the cover?

MarkHockley

Writer looking for some feedback

Hi everyone,

I’m very happy to say that I’ve just had my debut novel published and would love to swap thoughts and opinions on what makes a compelling read. With this in mind, what do you think attracts a potential reader? Would it be the front cover like mine below or is it more likely to be on the strength of the synopsis? Just how important is the cover art and what really determines our decision to invest the time to actually sit down and read a book? As a new author, I feel these questions are very important, so any insights you can give will be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• Magic Lands Amazon.jpg
    Magic Lands Amazon.jpg
    41.9 KB · Views: 269
Last edited:

migtig

aka Mrs. Giant
As an avid reader, I NEVER judge a book by it's cover. Actually sometimes, the cover artwork can be a bit off putting, too busy, and even have nothing whatsoever to do with the actual book. Just looking at the artwork would have had me miss a lot of very interesting books. I look at the synopsis on the back, or if it's a hardback on the inside jacket. If it intrigues me with the blurb, then I am eager to take home the book. If it is nothing but reviews, or no real description, I'll put it back on the shelf.

Sharon

Staff member
PREMO Member
I usually stick to my favorite authors but they just can't write 'em as fast as I can read them. If it's an unknown author the cover is what catches my attention. Then I'll look for this...
Book Description