First time home buyer credit...

Cowgirl

Yes, another thread about it. Has anyone done it yet? I was under the assumption that it was an $8,000 tax credit, meaning you'd get $8,000 deducted from your AGI when calculating taxes. The accountant said last night that we'd get a check for $8,000. :confused: Does that sound right?

chevylover

PIP ~ My Baby Boy!
I believe it is...just don't hold your breath. Friends of mine bought their first house in April and have not seen it yet. But they are expecting a check as well.

Crewdawg141

IYAMYAS!!!!!
Yes, another thread about it. Has anyone done it yet? I was under the assumption that it was an $8,000 tax credit, meaning you'd get $8,000 deducted from your AGI when calculating taxes. The accountant said last night that we'd get a check for $8,000. :confused: Does that sound right?

I am a Realtor with Coldwell Banker in Waldorf, we are having a meeting tonight to help us (Realtors) understand the $8000 Credit and its benefits. If you can wait until tonight (meeting at 1800) or tomorrow morning, I will be happy to relay what is passed on to us. Do you have any more questions regarding it?

morningbell

hmmmmmm

I thought it was to come in your tax return for 2009, I'll talk to my buyer's agent today to find out. I know the home has to be purchased by late November.

It is definitely an $8,000 credit - meaning it is not a deduction from your AGI, but rather an actual credit to the taxes you would owe for the year. I think they have put in place rules now so that home buyers can get the money immediately (when they close on the home - but you can't use it as part of the down payment). So, yes, it makes sense that you would get an $8,000 check.

Regardless of the credit or any program now or in the future please review the following prior to entering into any home purchase.

Be debt free.