Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Best roast ever? Try slow roasting

Blog Entries

Best roast ever? Try slow roasting

I've been doing this for a few years now. Overnight roasting in a very slow oven. The meat does not experience a huge amount of moisture loss. I try to use a better cut of meat when doing it this way. The attached article says this method works with a tougher cut of meat such as a shoulder cut.

1 other benefit is that it makes for an easy clean up of the pan. There isn't a lot of burnt on residue. Just soak the pan for a while and it cleans up easy.

You can produce perfectly cooked roast beef while you sleep, even with an array of beefy-tasting cuts, from pricey prime rib to affordable round roast. Slow roasting at a low temperature is the way to go. Butchers, chefs and meat experts agree that it's easy to do in basic home ovens. No fire-breathing, commercial-quality ranges are required.[

Slow-low roasting maximizes the taste of a whole beef tenderloin and prime rib roast, but the great secret and value of such a method is that it will tenderize and bring out the beefiest flavors of the less-expensive shoulder, round and rump roast cuts.

Although the slow-low method takes about 2 1/2 hours per pound at 170 degrees, it won't cost you extra time. A three- to four-pound roast can be placed in the oven to cook overnight. The temperature is so low that nothing will burn, and by the morning, the roast will be done.
    Slow roasting

Slow roasting recipe step by step
    Last edited by Monello; 11-25-2014 at 12:09 PM.
    "Is Uncle Monello homeless?"

Monello thinks he is king of the forum, now. Just keep that in mind.
    What bad thing did you do?

That's why it's called a Sunday roast. You put it in the oven and by the time you get ready for dinner after church it's ready.

I use the crockpot for almost all my roasts anymore. They turn out perfect.