What qualifies Police Officers to drive fast?

Petter Solberg

This question applies to Police Officers when they are in the line of duty.

Yesterday I noticed two state police cars turning very quickly from St. Andrews Church Rd onto 235 South. They both had a single hand positioned at the top of the steering wheel while performing and coming out of the turn.
This tells me that they are not instructed/qualified "Performance" drivers. So, what seperates their ability from a common driver? Why are they allowed to drive fast if they aren't qualified or instructed on how to do so?

I am a modestly taught driver in the skill of "High Performance Driving" and can tell ya that it takes much skill to safely drive an automobile fast. One hand on the top of the steering wheel is not the correct way to steer a car, especially when performing a fast turn.

Rob

Petter Solberg

You obviously don't understand the question. My question is:
What level of high performance driving instruction do local police officers have? By what I witnessed yesterday, I would say they have had no instruction. I am hoping that a Police Officer roaming these boards can answer this.

Originally posted by jazz lady
Because they are the 'po-po' and can. :duh:

crabcake

But wait, there's more...
:shrug: I heard they were issued a PS2 and this:
doublepack_l.gif
doublepack_r.gif

jazz lady

~*~ Rara Avis ~*~
PREMO Member
Originally posted by Petter Solberg
You obviously don't understand the question. My question is:
What level of high performance driving instruction do local police officers have? By what I witnessed yesterday, I would say they have had no instruction. I am hoping that a Police Officer roaming these boards can answer this.