Do we really care about these things, and why?

vraiblonde

Board Mommy
PREMO Member
Patron
There's a movement to rename Father's Day to "Special Person's Day" to be more inclusive.

Hang on...

:lmao:

First of all, I'm against the marginalization of Dads. These stupid movements are always prompted by feminist lesbians who don't want a man in their life, or their child's life, so they think nobody should have a dad. BUT...how much do we really care if these traditions go away? Mother's and Father's Day are manufactured holidays anyway, created by the Hallmark people to sell more cards and flowers - it's not based on any religious beliefs or anything else. It's totally made up, like Kwanzaa.

If they took away Christmas as a federal holiday, why do we care? As a non-Christian, it used to be a freebie for me and now as a business owner I don't even get a day off. All I get out of Christmas is a big credit card bill. Especially now that "Christmas" starts in freaking August, it's just a commercial joke any more.

So on one hand, who cares. Get rid of all holidays and cultural traditions - if people want to celebrate a specific day or occasion, they can do it individually and however they see fit.

On the other hand, cultural traditions are what binds us as a nation. It's something we all (most of us, anyway) have in common. Communist countries don't have national celebrations, unless you count the birth/death/whatever of their dictator (where you get shot or thrown in prison if you don't "celebrate"). Christmas, to me, isn't so much about Christ's birth as it is about tidings of comfort and joy and good will to men. They don't have things like that in China or Russia.

What say you?

This_person

Some people consider MLK day to be Lee-Jackson day. A lot of people celebrate their birthday on 9/11. Every day is many made up "holidays" for one thing or another.