Revelation 14 144,000 Virgins

seekeroftruth

Revelation 14:1 Then I looked, and there before me was the Lamb, standing on Mount Zion, and with him 144,000 who had his name and his Father’s name written on their foreheads. 2 And I heard a sound from heaven like the roar of rushing waters and like a loud peal of thunder. The sound I heard was like that of harpists playing their harps. 3 And they sang a new song before the throne and before the four living creatures and the elders. No one could learn the song except the 144,000 who had been redeemed from the earth. 4 These are those who did not defile themselves with women, for they remained virgins. They follow the Lamb wherever he goes. They were purchased from among mankind and offered as firstfruits to God and the Lamb. 5 No lie was found in their mouths; they are blameless.​

I can remember a conversation I had with a friend my senior year of high school. I graduated in '68 so it was during the Vietnam War, free love era. My friend and I were both dating guys who had already done a stint in country. My friend and I were discussing a horrible "problem". We were discussing my "archaic" thoughts about virginity. [Yep I guess I was a prude back then too!] The point is... these are 144,000 men who have the guts to remain a virgin. It takes a lot of integrity... honesty... and self acceptance to remain a virgin. These men have it all. They are chosen men of great character.

This is the commentary from amazingdiscoveries.org.

The 114,000: In contrast to the distressing scenes of the last chapter, the triumph of those who gain the victory over the beast and its image is now brought to view.

In chapter 7 this same group of 144,000 received the seal of God in their foreheads. Revelation 7:3, 4. They have the Father’s name written in their minds and hearts showing that they are His people who reflect His character of love.