Economy weakest in 3 years

Bustem' Down

Give Peas a Chance
CNNGmoney said:
Gross domestic product grew at only a 1.6% rate in third quarter, down from 2.6% in the second.

NEW YORK (CNNMoney.com) -- Economic growth slowed to the weakest pace in more than three years in the third quarter, as the government's main gauge of the strength of the U.S. economy came in much lower than analysts had forecast.

Gross domestic product, the broadest measure of the nation's economy, grew at a annual 1.6 percent rate in the quarter, the Commerce Department said, down from the 2.6 percent rate in the second quarter.

http://money.cnn.com/2006/10/27/news/economy/gdp/index.htm?cnn=yes

Ok, I'm not good with economics so some explanation would be helpful. How is it that the DOW is booming, but the GDP is so low?

punjabigyrl

Economy has been going doooowwwnnn and these number will keep dropping. Thanks to the $3 dollar gas....and other various factors. I can't think why this administration can be sooo blind about it and claim everything is fine when in reality "we're in BIG whole".

dck4shrt

Bustem' Down said:

Ok, I'm not good with economics so some explanation would be helpful. How is it that the DOW is booming, but the GDP is so low?

GDP is down primarily because of the cool down in the housing market. Economy has been predicted to slow down overall (hence the rise in interest rates). The market isn't necessarily worried about an economic slow down itself, just the rate of that slow down. We're looking for a soft landing.

Market is up because of the cool down in the housing market (speculation money has to go somewhere), a drop in oil prices, and decent corporate earnings. Midterm elections are the next hurdle for the market imo.

Bustem' Down

Give Peas a Chance
dck4shrt said: