Looking for advice on how to sell home by owner

jeneisen

Indy Bound
I am trying to sell my townhouse without a realtor and also purchase a new home that way. Can anyone give me advice on what I need to do and what costs are associated with it? I also need to know what not to do and what to look out for. Please help.

zyrne

FSBO

Legally, I have to disclose that I am a licensed agent.

First, unless you plan on buying a FSBO home, it can only hurt you to go without a realtor. If you purchase a house that is listed with a realtor, and you don't have one, it won't get you a better price. The complete commission the seller pays is already contracted, it will simply mean the listing agent gets the entire amount that is contracted instead of splitting it an agent representing you. The net result is simply that you don't have anyone looking out for your best interests, and they do.

The best way to sell FSBO is advertise, advertise and advertise.
People don't buy homes without seeing them, so your main priority is getting people there to look.
There is a little free magazine of FSBO houses that comes out twice monthly (?), I believe it's actually called FSBO. I would suggest that as well as the local newspapers, flyers at grocery stores, etc.
Hold an open house, and offer refreshments, and advertise it.

You might also want to consider offering realtors a co-op, or half commission, for finding the buyer for your home. That agent would also then take care of all the paperwork for you.
If the buyer is already working with an agent and signed an agreement with them, the buyer will be obligated to pay the realtor's commission anyway, which means your house must be priced lower than the similar houses for sale, to actually cost the buyer the same.

Snow Shovel

Call the bank or whoever holds your current mortgage. They will be able to guide you through whatever paperwork/actions are required (home inspection, survey, interaction with local authorities, . . .).