Web Authoriing

alex

I am just a novice web designer and have used Frontpage for the past few years.  However I would like to break away from that program.  Any suggestions on which way to go?  

vraiblonde

Board Mommy
PREMO Member
Patron
Curious why you want to break away from FrontPage?  As a site creation and management tool, it's about the best there is.  Others will disagree but I think we've tried them all and keep coming back to FP.

Frank

Chairman of the Board
I think the operative phrase here is site creation and management. It does a decent job of that, although I have no idea why it creates some of the stuff it does. But the poster mentioned web pages and honestly, I can't stand Front Page for most of that, but I haven't seen an awful lot that is good for GUI desgin. I've used Visual InterDev almost exclusively for the past few years, and occasionally Dreamweaver - but mainly because I'm not just making pages, I'm writing scripts and applications.

My sister does Web pages for a living, and has done so for about the past five years. I do know that, in a pinch, she'll use what all web page designers use occasionally - Notepad. But she leans towards stuff like HomeSite and - I can't remember. Whatever Macromedia has. She's a big user of all their stuff, plus she uses tools like Poser for 3-D stuff.

Making good web pages really isn't a matter of what program you use. It takes a while to learn good web design, and you can make truly awful pages with the best stuff. My sister had the advantage of being in advertising and publishing prior to her Web involvement. If you really want to make good pages,  learn all you can about HTML and look at pages you think look good - learn what tricks make them good. Find a book or two on web design.

vraiblonde

Board Mommy
PREMO Member
Patron