Chinese Fortune Cookies

OrneryPest

lower life form
My wife and I just got back from dining at China Harbor in Solomons. Hey, folks, it's walking distance so we can have as many of their generous drinks as we want to without contributing to Our Fair Isle's already generous reputation as Drunk Driving Capital of the World.

As usual, the food was absolutely the greatest and service was a trifle rushed at one point (in the China Harbor tradition, of course) but otherwise great. We had Hong Kong Shrimp and Eggplant in Garlic Sauce, both of which were great.

But anyhow, the fortunes in the fortune cookies seriously need a real makeover. Mine was, "You could prosper in the field of medical research." Hey, folks, I'm a retired rocket scientist and I've already done all the prospering I'm gonna do in a field vastly adrift from medical research!

My wife's fortune was, "Handsome is that handsome does." Er, ah, okay, whatever.

One of these days I'm gonna go into business making Misfortune cookies. Stuff like, "The Smithsonian Institute will soon discover that you are the world's first living proof that cave men performed acts of carnal knowledge upon slime molds." Or maybe, "The fleas of a thousand camels will soon pitch their tents amongst your eyelashes." Or perhaps, "You will be forced to watch one hundred reruns of the Green Bay Packers trouncing your favorite team 376-to-Zero."

Hey, don't you think that'd sell? At least it'd give the customers a good laugh!

Nickel

curiouser and curiouser
OrneryPest said:
"You will be forced to watch one hundred reruns of the Green Bay Packers trouncing your favorite team 376-to-Zero."
That's not misfortune! Brett Favre is delish!

OrneryPest

lower life form
I'll hafta think about that. Maybe the PIN numbers of Bill Gates's or J. Paul Getty's ATM accounts or something like that.

camily

Peace
OrneryPest said:
I'll hafta think about that. Maybe the PIN numbers of Bill Gates's or J. Paul Getty's ATM accounts or something like that.