Buddism

BudoPo

Sure. It's been a while since I studied it, but I know people pretty knowledgeable in it, if I can't answer your questions. I never really got into it, but found it very interesting. Keep in mind that there are quite a few sects. I was learning Tendai Mikkyo (a Tibetan one, but the Japanese version of it).

TripleJ

Originally posted by BudoPo
Sure. It's been a while since I studied it, but I know people pretty knowledgeable in it, if I can't answer your questions. I never really got into it, but found it very interesting. Keep in mind that there are quite a few sects. I was learning Tendai Mikkyo (a Tibetan one, but the Japanese version of it).
Thanks, I was sort of wondering if there was a group that met locally to discuss buddhism, I went to a buddhist (i forget the name, but, it was the chanting Tina Turner one) meeting, I found that to be as much in common with buddhism at the catholic church, I'll keep looking

BudoPo

I don't think there's anything down here, but Washington has the Shambala center. I'll ask around and see if I can dig up the contact information.

B

Boom

Originally posted by TripleJ
Thanks, I was sort of wondering if there was a group that met locally to discuss buddhism, I went to a buddhist (i forget the name, but, it was the chanting Tina Turner one) meeting, I found that to be as much in common with buddhism at the catholic church, I'll keep looking

I have limited knowledge, but I dont think you should think of Buddhism as a religion per se. It is more of a way of thinking, a way of understanding things, more of a private practice than a community worship kind of thing.

I also was brought up Catholic but have found too little in the religion that I wish to carry on into adulthood and to pass onto my children.

There are many different branches of Buddhism. For a beginning into exploration and to find which branch you might want to explore further, I suggest www.beliefnet.com.

G

BudoPo

Originally posted by Boom