Another Africian Cichilid question

S

starr

I have a 20 some gallon tank. I have 8 of these guys swimming around. As I said in a previous thread they were given to me. It has come to my attention that I may have an overcrowded tank. I have had them since last June without any problems. The actually seem pretty peaceful until I feed them. They go a little nuts then. They have plenty of hiding spaces and such.

I had considered getting a fish for Prep but it seems I may be already over my fish limit. What do you guys think?

PrepH4U

MysticalMom said:
I think 8 of those guys in a 20 gallon tank is wayyyyyyyyy too much.
MM can you explain why please, as I thought the same thing, but I am not a fish expert and do not really know why.

MysticalMom

Witchy Woman
PrepH4U said:
MM can you explain why please, as I thought the same thing, but I am not a fish expert and do not really know why.

Basic rule of thumb.... 2 inches of fish per gallon of water give or take dependng on the fish. Otherwise they over use oxygen, compete for food and often your filtration systems can't keep up etc.

Being that African Cichlids can be more aggressive than other fish, thinning the herd would be a good idea.

S

starr

Since I got the tank they haven't been any problems. Would it not be a good idea to just not ad any others but leave things the way they are. I always heard 1 inch of fish to a gallon. How would I go about thinning the heard?

MysticalMom

Witchy Woman
starr said:
Since I got the tank they haven't been any problems. Would it not be a good idea to just not ad any others but leave things the way they are. I always heard 1 inch of fish to a gallon. How would I go about thinning the heard?