Charles County Ice Rink Fiasco Where's The Missing Money?

Hey, folks. Check this one out. As many of you know, I am a real estate attorney. I sent this letter yesterday to the Charles County Commissioners:

Commissioner President Wayne Cooper
Commissioner Al Smith August 24, 2006
Commissioner Bob Fuller
Commissioner Candice Quinn Kelly
Commissioner Edith Patterson
VIA HAND DELIVERY

Dear Commissioners:

Since the details of the Capital Clubhouse acquisition have not been made available to the general public, I have made Public Information Act requests to the County for the relevant documents. After the passage of 74 days, I have received some of the documents, but many I have not received. By this letter, I request that the County expedite the process of providing documents. I have been patient in waiting. The standard recognized by the courts is essentially that the documents must be provided as expeditiously as possible, but normally within 30 days. I know that Commissioner Smith has called for all of the documents to be revealed to the public long ago, sometime in June.

From the documents that I have been given, I see something troubling that required further explanation. The issue involves the property taxes on the Capital Clubhouse.

It seems that in 2004, 2005, and at the time of the transaction in 2006, property taxes were never paid that were in fact due and owing. The amount currently due exceeds $260,000.00 by the accounting of the Treasurer. By my reckoning, it is closer to $150,000 to $175,000. How is it that this property had delinquent taxes for two-plus years, but the property did not get sold at tax sale? My clients whose property has been sold at tax sale were not given this special treatment, and I think that we as taxpayers have a right to know why the law is not being equally applied to all people.