Advice on DIY haircoloring

Ginger0314

I just cannot afford to have my hair done at the salon anymore - at least as often it seems to need it and they want me to get it done. I have never done my own before. Currently me hair is a light brown with 3 different highlights going through it. Any advice? What products? How to go about it? Thanks for any help.

signora

I just cannot afford to have my hair done at the salon anymore - at least as often it seems to need it and they want me to get it done. I have never done my own before. Currently me hair is a light brown with 3 different highlights going through it. Any advice? What products? How to go about it? Thanks for any help.

I use to use Clariol Nice & Easy years ago, which was okay. But the problem w/coloring your hair especially if you have brown hair and has red pigment in it, your hair will sometimes turn out in a orange/redish shade. Whereas a hairdresser knows how to mix the coloring to prevent that (if your trying to go w/a light brown or have blond highlights).

Last edited:

getbent

Thats how them b*tch's R
I color my own at home but I have never done highlights. I wouldn't lighten your hair more than a shade maybe 2 own your own. I usually go a shade lighter in the summer and a shade darker in the winter. I usually use Loreal Preference but I have been known to use others if they didn't have a shade I wanted. I always follow the directions and have had no problem. I've heard good things about the new 10 minute color and that's what I'm getting next. Some have a really awful ammonia (sp?) smell so do it in a well ventilated place. I have thick and long (past my shoulders) hair so I use 2 boxes. Hope this helps. Good luck.

Ginger0314