Bit Recommendations?

SugarNSpikes

Hey guys,
Hope you all are beating this miserable summer heat.

Just recently, I started riding my barn owners Quarab gelding. He has not been worked in 2-3 years so I started off slow with basic ground manners and lunging. It was my understanding that he was used in dressage before his current owner acquired him. I hopped on him a few nights ago and to my surprise, he was quite wonderful. He is very light on the hands and gets into a very cute little frame and goes perfectly at the walk/trot but his brakes suck. Everything is wonderful until I ask him to stop, and then the temper tantrums begin. He throws his head, opens his mouth, dips his shoulder and attempts to run into the middle. (Not all together, but those are the responses I've gotten)

I changed bridles, thinking that perhaps the one he had was too big (which it was). Same response. I asked the owner to have the vet out to ensure that he was fine physically and the vet check turned out OK (teeth were fine, etc). My friend recommended a flash noseband but I'm wondering if I should try changing bits, or a combination of flash/new bit?

Edit: The current bit that he wears is a rubber covered d ring snaffle.

Thanks. :)

Last edited:

devinej

i'd stick with what you are using, its a very gentle bit. or go to one that doesn't have rubber on it, but the same type. you can try a flash. It sounds like he is worried he is going to get abused in the mouth so keep things slow and gentle. Its more of a training/behavior issue than a bit issue. Do you know John Lyon's speed control exercise and the one rein stop? I'd work on those first.