Changing of the guard...

Larry Gude

Strung Out
...I've been playing golf with my nephew since he was six; 9 years this summer. He is an ubber jock who is good to great at everything; baseball, basketball, soccer, golf, you name it. He's always been a star on his teams, is a darn fine young man and super student as well. I get credit for the golf part.

In any event, I've always known that THE DAY would come when we'd hit out t shots from the same t's and we'd stroll down the fairway, get to a ball and he'd look down, identify it and casually remark "You're away, Unk..." and continue his walk another 30 or 40 yards to his ball as I contemplate my shot, the lie, wind, pin position where to miss and my shrinking position on the food chain.

We've joked about this for years, THE DAY, and he has looked forward to it (honestly, I have as well) with some relish, but not so much to beat the uncle as what it means about his advancing game. His swing, from day one, is just sick; it makes Tigers look kinda short and jerky. He is the epitome of syrup. Also, he's beat me twice so far. He still remembers the dates, the courses and what we shot and I have been away dozens, perhaps hundreds of times. However, he has the grace to readily concede that those were the bygone days of him playing the lady's t's (that's forward t's for those touchy about such things, Aunt Elaine, LOL).

So, this past Saturday afternoon, had the day arrived? We hit the range to loosen up already knowing we'd be playing the same t's today. Right away, I noticed the sound. A well struck golf ball makes a distinct click when it hits the sweet spot and an equally distinct fffffffffff as it explodes though the air. I haven't picked up a club since February and I knew I was in trouble, right here, right now.