Favorite Pasta Salads

SailorGirl

My favorite summer meal. Doesn't take that long to make and there's enough to split with my mother and oldest child who'd rather not cook. I'm looking to expand with new recipes though - I've got a good Italian, southwestern, chicken Caesar, and a chicken and red grape (which is really good) but I'm thinking maybe ranch chicken, chipotle chicken, and a barbecue chicken sound interesting. I'm not good at experimenting. Anyone got a favorite they're willing to share?

my-thyme

..if momma ain't happy...
Patron
Cherry Tomato Orzo Salad on plate

About this orzo pasta salad. It’s excellent! Like a Greek salad with orzo pasta and without olives. Though you could easily add olives to this orzo salad if you wanted to.
You could probably make this orzo salad into a with quinoa salad by using it instead of the orzo, though I haven’t tried it that way yet. And if you like this orzo salad, maybe you’ll want to plant some cherry tomatoes in your garden too. (I recommend Sun Golds.)

Cherry Tomato Orzo Salad Recipe
Print
  • Prep time: 15 minutes
  • Cook time: 15 minutes
  • Yield: Serves 8-10 as a side
INGREDIENTS
  • 8 ounces orzo pasta
  • Salt
  • 1 pint red cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 1 pint yellow cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 8 ounces feta cheese, crumbled
  • 1 large cucumber, peeled and chopped
  • 2 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 2 Tbsp minced fresh oregano
  • Juice of a lemon
  • Black pepper to taste
METHOD
1 Cook orzo pasta in salted water: Bring a large pot of well salted water to a rolling boil. Add the orzo, stirring it so that it doesn't stick to the bottom of the pan. Cook, uncovered, at a high boil until al dente, cooked through but still a bit firm.
Drain the pasta (it helps to use a fine mesh sieve for this as the small orzo might pass through holes in a colander), and rinse with cold water to stop the pasta from cooking further.