getting fuel smell/oil stains out of clothing???

ltowngirl

Help! my husband is a mechanic by trade and everyday he comes home reeking of diesel fuel and his clothes are always stained with grease and oil. I wash them using Tide and fabric softener, plus the Tide fireworks (to try and make them smell better)... and he still complains that his shirts stink everyday. No matter how much i wash the, the smell never seems to subside. Any suggestions on what to use???

migtig

aka Mrs. Giant
Depending on your washing machine, you may have to stop it and manual switch settings.

Using the warm water setting - put clothes in the washing machine - pour a 50 / 50 mix of baking soda and white vinegar (a cup will do ya) with a splash of Dawn dish soap on clothes. Let the machine fill up with warm water and then set it to soak for at least 2 hours. I'd actually suggest over night. Then spin out the clothes (drain water). Then run the load on your regular setting with your regular laundry detergent and some 20 mule team borax (add the amount suggested on the box) to the machine. You may want to repeat this process a couple of times depending on how bad it is. Remember all those scents you are adding can actually be making the chemical smell just a tad worse for him, or just temporarily masking the odor. I'd also suggest air drying the clothes if possible.

Roman

Make sure that you aren't over-loading the machine too. Fill the tub half-way with clothes, but put machine on full load mode. Migtig has some fantastic ideas above. I wash my washing machine at least once a week without clothes, and use Dawn, and vinegar.

MMM_donuts

I second the Borax. That what I use on my flight suits.

.....and how I fixed my husband's shirts the last two times I laundered them with an accidental tube of Chapstick...

SoMDGirl42