How do you deal w/ obnoxious people?

pixiegirl

Cleopatra Jones
I work with a lady and over the year and a half I've been here we've become very good friends both at work and outside of work. I love her to death but she's soooo obnoxious. I think she has self esteem problems so she feels like publicly belittle me to make herself feel better. For instance in front of co-workers she always feels the need to call me "little girl" since she's twice my size. We're getting ready to go down to VA Beach for a business trip. We're going abord a Navy Ship. We were talking to our Program Manager about the trip and she actually had the nerve to say she was going to "pimp" me out on the ship because I had to be good for something. Mind you I'm a financial analyst and she's only an admin. assistant going along to support me and the other guy. She's a good friend, anytime I've ever needed her she's been there for me. I've tried to say things polietly, I've tried to shrug it off and I've even gotten obnoxious back. Nothing is working and it's starting to really P!ss me off. I'm about to just let her have it. Any suggestions before I have to get real rude and real honest?

vraiblonde

Board Mommy
PREMO Member
Patron
I used to have a "friend" like that. She did stuff like that all the time - made herself look like a real ass while embarrassing me. Once at a party she started in and I got fed up and punched her out. Not recommending that you do this with your co-worker! But it kept her at bay temporarily. Then she started back up again.

She's jealous of you - why else would she act like that? If she's a good friend, just tell her that it hurts your feelings when she does that and embarrasses you. Ask her to please stop because it's making you not like her very much. Be honest.

butterfly

Pixie