Intern #1

chuckster

IMFUBARED
I Was JFK's Intern and Lover, Woman Admits

She's now a 60-year-old church worker, but in 1962 she was a 19-year-old White House intern and President John F. Kennedy's secret lover.

"I am the Mimi," Marion Fahnestock told the New York Daily News, unraveling a mystery sparked by a new JFK biography that revealed the story of her affair with JFK decades ago, identifying her only as "Mimi."

Coming forward after all those years, during which she kept secret her dalliance with a president of the United States, Mrs. Fahnestock says, is a great relief.

"The gift for me is that this allowed me to tell my two married daughters a secret that I've been holding for 41 years," she told the News. "It's a huge relief."

The story of the long-ago affair surfaced with the unsealing of a portion of a 1964 interview with Barbara Gamarekian, a former White House press aide, who confided an account of the liaison to historian Robert Dallek while he was researching his new biography of JFK, "An Unfinished Life."

But Dallek was unable to identify the woman other than to report she was known to White House insiders solely as "Mimi." He described the lengths White House aides went to conceal JFK's sex sessions with the intern, just one of many sexcapades of the president, whose insatiable sexual appetite was a closely kept secret even among those in the media who were aware of his frequent dalliances.

JFK once confided that if he didn't have sex every day he got a headache, leading one wag to comment that sex was JFK's "aspirin."

Although happy to get what she described to the News as a load off her shoulders, Mrs. Fahnestock, now an administrator at Manhattan's Fifth Avenue Presbyterian Church, refused to provide any of the seamy details of her affair with JFK or even any details about her impression of her presidential lover.