Low carb bread

jazz lady

~*~ Rara Avis ~*~
PREMO Member
I have been buying Schmidt's Old Tyme 647 bread for a few months. Never had a problem with it, but found out it has a short shelf life, especially now that the weather has warmed and it is more humid.

Bought a loaf last Thursday night from Giant, opened the package Friday morning to remove two slices, resealed it, stored it in the cupboard, and didn't touch it again until Sunday morning. Took two slices out and saw they were moldy, then looked at the rest of the package and all of it was completely moldy.

Lesson learned: store it either in the fridge or freezer. I did take it back to Giant and they refunded my money and gave me a new loaf.

Last edited:

jazz lady

~*~ Rara Avis ~*~
PREMO Member

"They say" storing it in the fridge changes the texture and let it go stale much faster. I find it may dry out a tad, but I always keep bread in the fridge.

Kyle

ULTRA-F###ING-MAGA!
PREMO Member
Someone I used to know got me to try it in another life.

I don't even like bread but my experience with it was poor. I'm reminded of John Pinettes take on it....

John Pinette:
"And I tried the low-carb bread. Have you tried it? It's horrible. I tasted it. I thought the wrapper was still on. It's not like it went bad, it never went good. They have "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter," they should call it, "This Ain't Bread." 'Cause it looks like bread, but it has no other properties of bread. I said, "You know what? I'll butter it. That'll make it better." Butter won't go on it. It slides right off. The butter's like, "Where are you putting me?" Jam and jelly beads up and fall off it. Did they Scotch-guard this at the factory? You know what I'll do? It's okay, I'll toast it. I'll make a sandwich, I'll toast it. It's better when you toast it. It doesn't toast. You can't toast it. I'm out in the garage with a blow torch. It's absorbing the heat like a space shuttle tile. "

jazz lady

~*~ Rara Avis ~*~
PREMO Member