Public land turkeys

antwheat

I am the Decider!
I'm new to SOMD and am an avid hunter. I'm thinking about trying out turkey hunting for the first time ever this spring and would like to know how public land turkey hunting is in Charles county, specifically Myrtle Grove. I can say early in deer season I saw a group of about 8 out there while in my stand. Any turkey hunting suggestions or locations are greatly appreciated!

bulldog

I'm new to SOMD and am an avid hunter. I'm thinking about trying out turkey hunting for the first time ever this spring and would like to know how public land turkey hunting is in Charles county, specifically Myrtle Grove. I can say early in deer season I saw a group of about 8 out there while in my stand. Any turkey hunting suggestions or locations are greatly appreciated!

Eight turkeys on public land in SOMD is a good start. In general, turkeys in SOMD are just getting to where there are decent numbers for hunting. Unlike deer, they are not everywhere. On the farms I hunt, they are closely managed (i.e., limited hunters, one bird per hunter instead of the allowed two). Hopefully this management will help increase the numbers.
This will be the first year that DNR will allow hunting past noon, but it's restricted to the last two weeks of the season if I remember correctly. No fall season as there is in other areas of the state such as western MD. Hopefully, this too will change as the numbers increase.

antwheat

I am the Decider!
Thanks for the info Bulldog. I didn't realize they had low numbers here. We trip over them where I'm from in Arkansas, just never hunted them. I've seen several groups in fields drivig through Charles though.

wch