Santa Claus and the Easter Bunny

Tonio

Asperger's Poster Child
2ndAmendment said:
I do think that Santa and the Easter Bunny are causes for confusion when it comes to belief in God.
That's possible, although I think it's mostly affected by how the parents handle the separate issues of religious faith and cultural fantasy. Kids who read Tolkein know that orcs and trolls and dragons don't really exist, but they enjoy the fantasy and the make-believe.

I always thought of Santa and the Easter Bunny as cultural conventions that evolved in America, entirely separate from the religious meanings of the holidays. I know that Christians in other countries have somewhat different cultural conventions for Easter and Christmas, although I'm not an expert on those customs.

pixiegirl

Cleopatra Jones
BadGirl said:
Good post. :yay:

:yeahthat:

I totally wasn't trying to start an argument. I was just trying to get other opinions on the topic. It just happened that your post about it several days ago got the wheels in my head turning.

itsbob

I bowl overhand
Festivus is a nondenominational holiday featured in an episode of Seinfeld, a popular American television sitcom of the 1990s. It was featured on episode number 166 of the show, entitled "The Strike", which first aired on December 18, 1997. Many people, influenced or inspired by Seinfeld, now celebrate, in varying degrees of seriousness, the holiday in real life. The definitive book on the holiday<b> Festivus: The Holiday for the Rest of Us by Allen Salkin, with a foreword by Jerry Stiller is coming out 26 October 2005.</b>

Tonio

Asperger's Poster Child
itsbob said:
Festivus is a nondenominational holiday featured in an episode of Seinfeld...
Classic episode. If we celebrated Festivus on the Forum, I predict that Qpid and Dazed&Fallen would lead in the Airing of Grievances :lol: and Ken King and Bruzilla would lead in the Feats of Strength.

Last edited:

itsbob

I bowl overhand