Squatted Trucks

GURPS

INGSOC
PREMO Member

As of today, the North Carolina vehicle code prohibits a passenger vehicle from being lifted or lowered more than six inches. However, the ratified legislation (a full copy of which can be found here) does away with that specification and instead takes aim at squatting trucks by requiring that the front fenders sit no higher than four inches over the rear fenders.

It's worth noting that this only covers vehicles with modified "suspension, chassis, or frame," so rest assured that your 2000 Honda Insight and vintage Cadillac DeVille are safe.

Despite the text of the bill changing between the last time we reported on it and when it was passed, the law still does away with the text which prohibits owners from raising or lowering their vehicles in excess of the current six-inch law. I'm no lawyer, but with that text gone, it seems that owners can effectively raise and lower their car limitlessly, so long as no other violations are committed, like exceeding 13 feet in total height.

:twitch:

PrchJrkr

Long Haired Country Boy
Ad Free Experience
Patron
I heard about this trend. It didn't interest me enough to search out what it meant. As long as there have been cars (trucks), there have been people modifying them. I remember my dad's 1967 Skylark had air shocks for towing. When I was allowed to drive it, my first stop was the local gas station to air them up. Kids...

black dog

Free America
WTF.... Whats popular here now are wheels and tires that are outside of the wheelwells six plus inches.
Its great to ride behind them in inclement weather, its the same Aholes that use window tint on the running/brake light lenses...

GURPS

INGSOC
PREMO Member
WTF.... Whats popular here now are wheels and tires that are outside of the wheelwells six plus inches.

I've seen little econo boxes like that .. they look like 13 inch tiny BLING rims that stick WAaayuyyy out

Gilligan

#*! boat!
PREMO Member