Supreme Court rules against Trump administration bid to end DACA program

SamSpade

I found this surprising - and I suppose it's why I am not a lawyer. I kind of thought that any executive order could be undone with another.
Kind of like if I subscribe to something I am free to unsubscribe.

Hijinx

I found this surprising - and I suppose it's why I am not a lawyer. I kind of thought that any executive order could be undone with another.

It looks like the Supreme Court can do pretty much anything it wants, from making laws to endorsing executive orders.

Reactions: BOP

SamSpade

It looks like the Supreme Court can do pretty much anything it wants, from making laws to endorsing executive orders.

Well the article quotes Roberts as saying it's not their job to rule on policy - only legality (in a nutshell). They could actually AGREE with what Trump wanted, just ruled he couldn't do it with current law. THAT to me is what they're supposed to do, although I kind of feel they went around Grandma's barn to find a way to pull it out of their ass.

awpitt

Main Streeter

It really shouldn't be surprising. Presidents don't have free rein when it comes to EOs as EOs are subject to judicial review just as laws are.

awpitt

Main Streeter

The Supreme Court cannot do anything it wants. It can rule only on cases that are brought before it. Which is what they did today.

Monello

Smarter than the average bear
PREMO Member
An illegal executive order to protect people here illegally. But it's OK with the court. Well it appears to be reasonable to 5 of it's members.

awpitt

Main Streeter