What breed of chickens to get?

Eventer29

My hubby and I are thinking of getting some chickens. We want laying hens. Dont particularly care what type of egg, eggs are eggs to me! Would like a relatively easy care and friendlyish breed. What would you guys recommend. My parents had chickens when I was little so they will help some with them, but I have no knowledge on my own. I am starting to do some research now and will make sure I learn everything I can before jumping into chicken ownership! We have an old coop, but it needs lots and lots of repair. We will probably just build a new smaller coop. I read somewhere about a small coop on wheels so it was able to be moved from place to place. I love that idea!
Any chicken info is also appreciated,I love to learn about animals!
Also I have heard that you should keep chickens away from horses and other livestock due to samonella(sp?). I have seen chickens on plenty of farms with other livestock, so is there much truth to this? We had to put a horse down years ago due to samonella, not due to chickens. Def do not want to go through that again.

HorseLady

Painted Spirit