Help needed from dog people

carolinagirl

What's it 2 U
I have just begun the process of seriously looking for a dog for our family. We currently don't have any pets, but I was raised my entire life with dogs and cats so I have plenty of experience. Unfortunately, my three kids don't.

So here is where I need a little help. I am drawn to boxers, mastiffs, stafford terriers and labs. But I am not sure most of those breeds are good for my kids, ages 16, 8 and 4 yo. Although she loves animals and even talked about being a vet, the 16 year old is more nervous around animals than the 8 yo and the 4 yo has no fear of anything. I don't really want a smal dog because the 4 yo is like a bull in a china closet. He is not mean, but he is all boy!

I want a dog that would stay indoors most all of the day and could be crate trained while we are away until I can trust him/her to be in the house loose when we are gone. I also would like a dog that doesn't shed excessive amounts of hair like collies.

Anyone have any suggestions on what breed I should look for. We want to adopt from a shelter and I would like a dog that is already house trained for the most part.

TIA!

J

jp2854