CrowdStrike Servers in Ukraine

GURPS

INGSOC
PREMO Member
đŸ”„đŸ”„ Prepare to don your tinfoil caps in astonishment. You probably thought the week had already delivered its full payload and couldn’t possibly get any more interesting. But another shipment has unexpectedly arrived. You ask, how could 2024, in a single week, beat the miraculous physical and political comeback of Donald J. Trump and the historic civil war tearing apart the Democrat party? Haha! Amateurs. There’s lots more. Let us begin with the news of how most of the world’s computers became useless, blue-screened bricks overnight. (I didn’t notice right away; I use Mac.) Bloomberg yesterday:

image 4.png

The sinking of the world’s computers was just the icy tip of the conspiracy theory iceberg. Wait till you get a load of this.

But first, let’s get up to speed on yesterday’s developments. As it happens, this time, I am a software expert. I put myself through college writing custom software, a lucrative pastime I started when I was twelve, greatly annoying my parents, who wished I would get outside more and quit asking for nerdy computer gear. It is true that, now I’m a lawyer, it’s been a while since I coded anything, but I still know my way around the premises.

Google Whistleblower and senior developer Zach Voorhies yesterday posted the CrowdStrike crash error log, which can be easily found in internal computer files if you know where to look. And then Zach diagnosed the error, which appears to be the most basic kind of C++ programming mistake, something like lazily leaving a metal fork on the plate when you slide it into the microwave.

I’ll spare you the details, but for our tech-savvy readers, here’s the link to Zach’s diagnostic post. The gist was that the error pushed by the so-called “Global IT Security” company bringing down the world’s critical infrastructure was so basic that it tends to suggest either grotesque, DEI-levels of incompetence or intentionality.