Infant Care

jeneisen

Indy Bound
I am new to this mommy thing and everyone is telling me I should starting looking for daycare now while I am still pregnant. I am due in August and will need daycare in early/mid October. I am looking for some advice on how to interview anyone and what type of things I should look out for. I know the normal things like rates, hours, but are there any questions or things I should be aware of when I go to interview? Any suggestions would be great.

Also, if anyone knows of any providers that have openings that would be great because I am having a hard time finding someone for October timeframe!

crabcake

But wait, there's more...
DEFINATELY start looking now! Newborn/infant slots are the most in-demand.

Things to ask:

-- how long doing daycare
-- why did they choose that profession
-- their license information AND make sure you verify it with the childcare licensing office.
-- if they've had any violations/complaints filed.
-- how many other kids are in daycare and their ages
-- what they provide if anything (food, formula, diapers, etc)
-- if they have any kids of their own and their ages
-- pets and what kinds
-- is it a smoking household?
-- who is the emergency backup for the provider (if it's in-home).
-- at least 3 references AND make sure you call them!

good luck! :smile:

Chasey_Lane

Salt Life
Don't forget to ask (if they don't already tell you) if they have paid vacation. Some in-home sitters will take one week paid and one week unpaid. Also, what are the hours/cancellations if schools are closed as some daycare providers will not be open in this case.

crabcake

But wait, there's more...
nomoney said:
www.mdchildcare.org is a great place to start :yay:

that or call 301-290-0045 to get free locate child care info.
:yeahthat: Was just getting ready to post that link, too. You can do a search online for licensed care providers based on your schedule, preferred location, etc. on there as well. :yay: