Spray paint

frequentflier

happy to be living
Good morning! We are having a new back deck built. 12'X12' screened in, 12'X12' not. Two standard sized doorways and two sets of steps.
I picked up a 4' across wrought iron table and four chairs at an auction or estate sale a couple years ago and it would look great on the screened new deck.
The contractor said they could put it up on the deck before the screens go in.
A friend said I should wire brush and clean it and then spray paint. She thinks it will take 8 cans of spray paint which seems excessive to me however I have zero experience with spray paint so I am looking for input. I will go to Lowes today and pick up materials and will throw a tarp on the ground and begin the project. It is very heavy and will be difficult for me to handle but I'll finger it out :) The chairs do not have to be done immediately.
Thanks in advance for any input.

PrchJrkr

Long Haired Country Boy
Ad Free Experience
Patron
I refinished a metal table and chairs for M-I-L back when Wifey and I first started dating. I recommend that you purchase a good quality paint/primer and get as much of the old finishes and rust off before painting. There's no secret to it. The end product will reflect the amount of effort that went into the prep work.

You can do it. Just be meticulous about getting as much old flaking paint off before spraying. Post pics. The one chair that's left from this original set, still looks "good", forty odd years later.

frequentflier

happy to be living
I refinished a metal table and chairs for M-I-L back when Wifey and I first started dating. I recommend that you purchase a good quality paint/primer and get as much of the old finishes and rust off before painting. There's no secret to it. The end product will reflect the amount of effort that went into the prep work.