St. Marys Reservoir

Sparx

Where is the best spot and method to catch some of the big bluegill I have heard can be caught in the St. Marys Reservoir?

T

toppick08

Where is the best spot and method to catch some of the big bluegill I have heard can be caught in the St. Marys Reservoir?

My best catches have come from a spot directly across the boat ramp, on the other side by the dam...good bedding places in the past. Use crickets, or redworms with a float for bluegill, and try tight lining with worms for red-ear(chinquapin) bream....good fishing to ya'...:buddies:

somdshootnet

A worm on a hook on a corncob bobber attached to string and tobacco stick. Don't knock it. My cousin and I have fished that lake from one side to the other over many many summers. My grandparents own the property to the Right hand side of the dam facing the dam, so I have lots of experience with that end of the lake. fish for the pans in the coves early morning and late afternoon, they don't like the clarity of the water in the mid day light and the wind has to be blowing from the 3 degrees of North direction, otherwise it's just a shot in the dark.

T

toppick08

A worm on a hook on a corncob bobber attached to string and tobacco stick. Don't knock it. My cousin and I have fished that lake from one side to the other over many many summers. My grandparents own the property to the Right hand side of the dam facing the dam, so I have lots of experience with that end of the lake. fish for the pans in the coves early morning and late afternoon, they don't like the clarity of the water in the mid day light and the wind has to be blowing from the 3 degrees of North direction, otherwise it's just a shot in the dark.

Porcupine quills.........lost art in the bream fishing world.......:coffee:

jenni4

Yay me!
omg! I love fishing for bluegills at Saint Marys!