Discipline

I'm a newbie to this forum but can't help posting to this topic.  My husband and I have 3 very well behaved teenaged daughters.  We were always getting comments from total strangers about their excellent behavior in public when they were little.  (Had them all within 3 years so they were all about the same ages together - whew!)  

It was a lot of work, and we had to stay on top of their behavior constantly, but it was worth it.  We could take them ANYwhere in public and not be embarassed by temper tantrums and screaming fits.  Why?  Because the very first time it happened, we stopped everything and on the spot,  spanked the bottom of the offender.  The other 2 took notice and it never happened again.  No means "NO", not "if you ask enough times, eventually I'll give in".  Consistancy is the key to discipline definitely.  If you threaten, be sure you're prepared to follow up with action, not another threat.

Now we're doing the teenage years and if we manage to make it through with our sanity intact, I'll feel very lucky!  :)  They're teens and we're definitely dealing with typical teenage angst but overall I must say, I'm very proud of our girls and then fine young women they're turning into.  

Thanks for reading.  :)