New Here, May Relocate

USNavyWife

Hello! We are looking into relocating from California to NAS PAX. I am a student and a SAHM to a 16 mos old girl. And obviously a Navy wife. We are originally from Rochester, NY, and want to move back east to be closer to our family.

So...I am trying to find out information on southern Maryland and the best places to look at for living. Our BAH (rent money, for those who don't know) will be either $1118 if we come next year, or $1388 if we wait until after my husband is commissioned as an officer. Will we be able to afford a good place for that? We have no pets. Can anyone give me the names of some places to look at? And what are the best areas to look at near NAS PAX?

Also, what is the quality of life in MD? I've been trying to find stuff online, but all I can find is historical information, and sight-seeing stuff, nothing about what it's like to live there.

THANKS FOR ANY AND ALL HELP!

USNavyWife

One More Question....

If we relocate to VA Beach, we will be able to afford renting a 4 bedroom house. What are the chances of that in S. MD?

crabcake

But wait, there's more...
look here for an idea about what your money will get you in this area (southern maryland) ... can't say what Va Beach rentals are going for. :shrug:

Welcome & good luck! :cool:

Hello6

Princess of Mean
Use the navy SITES website. That'll tell you all about the area and cost of living and quality of life. My first impression when being transferred from Norfolk to Pax River was "Where the heck are the malls?" Grew to really like the area, though.
Why a 4 bedroom if you only have one kid?

Hello6

Princess of Mean
Also, go to your local Fleet and Family Support center. They'll have packages on each location if you can't find the SITES website. (You have to be enrolled in DEERS to be able to use it)Sites website login

USNavyWife